Celebrating 200 Years

The Bicentennial of the Louisiana Supreme Court


Home History Justices Historical Documents Historical Photos
Celebrating 200 years . The Bicentennial of the Louisiana Supreme Courrt 1813-2013


Louisiana Supreme Court Justices



Chief Justice Pascal F. Calogero, Jr.

Pascal F. Calogero, Jr. (born 1931)

Associate Justice, Supreme Court of Louisiana, January 10, 1973, to April 9, 1990

Chief Justice, April 9, 1990, to December 31, 2008

Born November 9, 1931, in New Orleans • Educated at public school and St. Aloysius High School • President of the Loyola Law Review, graduated first in his Loyola School of Law class in 1954 • Captain in U.S. Army 1954 to 1957 • Law clerk for judges of Orleans Parish Civil District Court • Practiced 1957 to 1972 in the firm of Landrieu, Calogero and Kronlage, later Calogero and Kronlage • Elected to Louisiana Supreme Court, taking office January 10, 1973 • Re-elected 1974, 1988 and 1998 • Sworn in as chief justice April 9, 1990 • Received LL.M. in Judicial Process from University of Virginia 1992 • Has effected reforms in judicial administration, establishing Louisiana Indigent Defender Board, strategic planning for entire court system, and improvements in juvenile justice • Strengthened disciplinary systems for lawyers and judges • Received Louisiana Bar Foundation's 1991 Distinguished Service Award, honorary LL.D. from Loyola School of Law, and membership in Order of the Coif at Louisiana State University Law Center • Named 1995 Distinguished National Jurist by Indiana University School of Law at Indianapolis for work in indigent defense and recipient of American Judges Association's 1995 Judge Bob Jones Memorial Award for contributions to judicial education •
Married to Leslie Langhetee, is the father of ten children •