Celebrating 200 Years

The Bicentennial of the Louisiana Supreme Court


Home History Justices Historical Documents Historical Photos
Celebrating 200 years . The Bicentennial of the Louisiana Supreme Courrt 1813-2013


Louisiana Supreme Court Justices



Chief Justice Thomas C. Manning

Thomas Courtland Manning (1825-1887)

Associate Justice, Confederate Supreme Court of Louisiana, 1864B1865

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Louisiana, January 9, 1877, to April 5, 1880

Associate Justice, December 1, 1882, to April 19, 1886


Born September 14, 1825, in Edenton, North Carolina • Taught by his mother and at Edenton Academy • Graduated from University of North Carolina 1843 • Studied law and practiced while teaching Latin and Greek • Edited local newspaper • Married Mary Louisa Blair • Moved to Alexandria, Louisiana, to practice in 1855 • Appointed to Board of Supervisors of Louisiana State Seminary (now LSU) • Voted to secede from the Union at 1861 Secession Convention • Brigadier general in the Confederate Army • Named Adjutant-General of Louisiana 1863 • Appointed associate justice on Confederate Supreme Court in Shreveport 1864 • At war's end swore allegiance to the United States and was pardoned • During Reconstruction became active in Democratic Party and supported Francis T. Nicholls for governor in 1876 • Appointed chief justice of new Supreme Court by Nicholls 1877 • Served until 1880 when Constitution of 1879 authorized new Supreme Court • Became a trustee of Peabody Educational Fund to promote education in destitute southern states • Appointed again as associate justice in 1882, serving until 1886 • Was the only person to serve three separate terms on Supreme Court • Named United States Minister to Mexico by President Cleveland 1886 • Died October 11, 1887, in New York • Portrait painted by Paul Poincy