Celebrating 200 Years

The Bicentennial of the Louisiana Supreme Court


Home History Justices Historical Documents Historical Photos
Celebrating 200 years . The Bicentennial of the Louisiana Supreme Courrt 1813-2013


Louisiana Supreme Court Justices



Chet D. Traylor

Associate Justice, Louisiana Supreme Court January 1, 1997 - May 31, 2009

CHET D. TRAYLOR, elected from the Fourth Supreme Court District took office on January 1, 1997. Born in Columbia, Louisiana, Traylor graduated from Colombia High School and received a B.A. degree in government from Northeast Louisiana State University in 1969 and his Juris Doctor degree from Loyola University School of Law in 1974. Traylor served as a judge of the Fifth Judicial District Court, Franklin, Richland, and West Carroll Parishes, from 1985 until his election to the Supreme Court.

Traylor is a former Louisiana State Trooper; Investigator for the Louisiana Department of Justice Organized Crime and Racketering Unit and was later the legal advisor to the Louisiana State Police Narcotics, Detectives and Intelligence units. From 1975-82, he served as an Assistant District Attorney in Franklin Parish.

Traylor was a founding board member of the Winnsboro Economic Development Foundation and served as a board member of the Winnsboro's Lion's Club and of the Franklin Parish Mental Health Association. He was the first president of Winnsboro Ducks Unlimited and the founder of John Adams Chapter of Greenwings. He is a life member of the National Rifle Association and is a member of the Rocky Mountain Conservation Fund.

Traylor served in the United States Army as a Military Police Investigator. He entered as a Private and was honorably discharged two years later as a Sergeant E-5. While attending Northeast Louisiana State University, he was a Louisiana State Trooper, Troop F.