Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


In Memoriam

Retired Louisiana  Supreme Court Chief Justice Pascal F. Calogero Jr.

Retired Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Pascal F. Calogero Jr., 87, died Thursday, December 20, 2018.  He attended St. Aloysius High School and Loyola University. He earned his law degree in 1954, graduating first in his class and serving as president of the Student Editorial Board of the Loyola Law Review. Prior to his 1972 election to the bench, Calogero worked as a law clerk at Civil District Court in Orleans Parish and practiced law with the law firm of Landrieu, Calogero & Kronlage. Chief Justice Calogero was the longest-serving justice in the history of the Louisiana Supreme Court, serving for 36 years, from January 10, 1973 to December 31, 2008. He served as Chief Justice for 18 years, from April 1, 1990 until his retirement on December 31, 2008. Calogero was the recipient of numerous accolades and awards, such as the Louisiana Bar Foundation’s 1991 Distinguished Jurist Award; an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from Loyola University School of Law; induction as an honorary member of LSU Law Center’s Order of the Coif and Hall of Fame; the Justice Albert Tate, Jr. Award from the Louisiana Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers; the distinguished Medal of Honor Award from the Mayor of New Orleans; and in 2007, the American Judicature Society, a national nonpartisan organization dedicated to the effective administration of justice, awarded Chief Justice Calogero the Dwight D. Opperman Award for Judicial Excellence. He continued to receive honors after his retirement in 2008, including the dedication in his honor of an issue of the Louisiana Bar Journal, and Louisiana Association of Criminal Defense Counsel’s Lifetime Achievement Award. The Louisiana Bar Foundation instituted the Calogero Justice Award, which is awarded annually to recognize a significant contribution to the Louisiana justice system. He also received the Integritas Vitae Award, Loyola University’s highest honor, which is given to individuals who possess a high moral character in a lifetime of service, and the ACLU’s Ben Smith Award for his commitment to the advancement of civil liberties in Louisiana.



void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access