Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


In Memoriam

Retired 36th JDC Judge Herman I. “Buddy” Stewart

Retired 36th JDC Judge Herman I. “Buddy” Stewart, 71, died Sunday, February 27, 2011. He earned his B.S. degree from Louisiana State University in 1961 and his JD from LSU Law School in 1964 where he was a member of the Law Review. From 1964-1965 he clerked for the late Judge J. Cleveland Fruge at the Third Circuit Court of Appeal. He then practiced law with the firm of Kay & Stewart from 1965-1990 and continued thereafter as a solo practitioner. He served as City Attorney/City Prosecutor from 1970-1974 and attorney for the Industrial Development Board for DeRidder from 1972-1978. He also served as the attorney for the Housing Authority for the City of DeRidder. Elected to the bench in 1996, Judge Stewart served on Division B until his retirement in 2008.

void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access