Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


In Memoriam

Retired 3rd Circuit Court of Appeal Judge Henry L. Yelverton

Retired 3rd Circuit Court of Appeal Judge Henry L. Yelverton, 81, died Friday, July 31, 2009. He graduated from LSU in 1949 and, after service in the Air Force as an intelligence officer with the Strategic Air Command, entered LSU Law School in 1955 and earned his JD in 1957. He began his career in public service in 1961 when he became first assistant district attorney for the 14th Judicial District. In 1971, he was appointed to a district judgeship by Governor John McKeithen and was reelected to that post in 1972, serving until his election to the 3rd Circuit Court of Appeal in 1982. He sat by appointment on the 1st Circuit Court of Appeal and the Louisiana Supreme Court. He was a member of the Louisiana Law Institute, the American Bar Association, the Louisiana State Bar Association, the Southwest Louisiana Bar Association, the ABA Appellate Judges Conference, the Louisiana Bar Foundation and the American Judicature Society. He was a founding member of the Criminal Benchbook Committee and for several years chaired the Uniform Rules Committee of the Louisiana Appellate Judges Conference. In 2002, Yelverton received the Distinguished Jurist award from the Louisiana Bar Foundation.

void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access