Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


In Memoriam

Retired Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice John Dixon

Retired Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice John A. Dixon, Jr., 82, died Saturday, February 22, 2003 in Shreveport, Louisiana. A World War II veteran and prisoner of war, he earned his Juris Doctor degree from Tulane Law School in 1947. He was in the private practice of law and served as Assistant District Attorney in Shreveport prior to his election to the district court bench in 1957. After his election to the Second Circuit Court of Appeal in 1968, he was unopposed in his election to the Supreme Court bench in 1971. He became Chief Justice in 1980 and served in that position until his retirement from the Supreme Court in 1990. In 1981, he was named the Outstanding Alumnus Award of the Tulane Law School and was recognized by the American Civil Liberties Union of Louisiana with the Benjamin E. Smith Award, its highest honor, for a lifetime of defending civil rights and liberties.

void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access