Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


In Memoriam

Retired 21st JDC Judge Leon Ford III

Retired 21st JDC Judge Leon Ford III, 74, died Sunday, January 18, 2004. He earned his undergraduate degree from Southeastern Louisiana University in 1951 and his Juris Doctor degree from Louisiana State University Law School in 1952. He entered the U.S. Air Force in 1952 and served in Korea as Staff Judge Advocate of 8th Fighter-Bomber Wing. He was first elected to City Court of Hammond in 1966 and was reelected without opposition in 1972, serving there until his election to the 21st JDC bench in 1974. He was appointed by the Supreme Court to serve on the Committee that established the Louisiana Judicial College, after which he served as vice-chairman of the new Board of the Louisiana Judicial College. He was a member of the Committee that drafted the new Code of Ethics for the Louisiana Judiciary and served on the Judicial Council of the Supreme Court for six years. He served as President of the Louisiana Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges and was an instructor of Criminal Law and Criminal Evidence at Southeastern Louisiana University. He retired from the 21st JDC in 1990.

void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access