Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


In Memoriam

Retired Third Circuit Court of Appeal Judge Minos D. Miller, Jr.

Retired Third Circuit Court of Appeal Judge Minos D. Miller, Jr., 85, died Saturday, July 1, 2006. He served as a combat pilot for the U.S. Navy during World War II where he earned a Purple Heart after he was shot down by enemy fire, spending 30 hours in the water and eventually captured and held in a prison camp. After being among the first Louisiana prisoners liberated and repatriated, he immediately began taking correspondence courses to continue his studies. In 1947, he received both his undergraduate and LL.B. degrees from Louisiana State University. Prior to his military service, he attended LSU and was a member of many honorary, scholastic and leadership organizations, including Phi Delta Phi legal fraternity, Omicron Delta Kappa leadership fraternity, and Phi Eta Sigma scholastic fraternity. He was first elected to the bench of the newly-created 31st JDC in 1953 and was re-elected without opposition in 1954, 1960, and 1966, serving as the only judge for that district during that time and earning recognition for maintaining a current docket with no backlog of cases while serving a population of almost 60,000. In 1968, he was elected to the Third Circuit Court of Appeal where he served until his retirement in 1977. He was a past president of the Louisiana District Judges Association and served on the Louisiana Judicial Council. He worked on various projects of law revision conducted by the Louisiana Law Institute and in 1967 served as a faculty advisor for the National College of State Trial Judges at the University of Pennsylvania. He served by special appointment on the Louisiana Supreme Court in 1958 and also by special appointment on the First, Third and Fourth Circuits of the Courts of Appeal. He was appointed by the Louisiana Supreme Court as an interim judge with the First Circuit Court of Appeal in 1961-62. He was active in a number of civic, charitable, and community organizations including service as commander of the Jennings American Legion Post, vice-president of the Southwest Louisiana Bar Association and chairman of the Jeff Davis district of the Boy Scouts of America, earning the Silver Beaver, one of scouting’s highest awards.


void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access