Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2000 Press Releases

(504) 599-0319

 JULY 17, 2000


Chief Justice Pascal F. Calogero. Jr. announced today the Louisiana Supreme Court's recent establishment of the Ad Hoc Committee to Study the Creation of a Judicial Oversight Committee. The Ad Hoc Committee has been charged with studying and then recommending to the Court whether a permanent Judicial Campaign Oversight Committee should be created to serve as a resource for judicial candidates and to help facilitate ethical campaigning in Louisiana for judicial office. Information from the American Judicature Society indicates that seven other states have created similar committees.

During the course of its review, the Ad Hoc Committee will be studying the following issues, among others: (1) the duties and authority to be given to such a committee; (2) whether such a committee should be charged with educating judicial candidates in appropriate judicial campaign conduct; (3) whether judicial candidates should be asked to sign a pledge to engage in ethical campaign conduct; and (4) whether and how such a committee can expeditiously address ethical concerns which often arise during judicial campaigns.

It is anticipated that a public hearing will be held in mid-September at which the public and interested parties will be invited to comment on a tentative proposal for creating a permanent Judicial Campaign Oversight Committee. Thereafter, the Ad Hoc Committee will consider the comments received at the public hearing and report its final recommendations to the Court.

The members of the Ad Hoc Committee to Study the Creation of a Judicial Campaign Oversight Committee are: Chief Justice Pascal F. Calogero, Jr., Co-Chair; Retired Judge Graydon K. Kitchens, Jr., Co-Chair; Judge Melvin A. Shortess; Judge Anne Lennan Simon; Judge Wilson R. Ramshur; Judge Eugene W. Bryson, Jr.; Judge Jimmy N. Dimos; Judge Ronald D. Cox; Judge Ernestine S. Gray; Senator Jay Dardenne; Representative Arthur A. Morrell; Harry S. Hardin, III; John S. Keller; John B. Scofield; Professor T. Wayne Parent; Barry Irwin; James C. Brandt; Sibal S. Holt; and E. Phelps Gay.

void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access