Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Catherine D. Kimball. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Timothy F. Averill. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Drug Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us

 Louisiana Supreme Court Justices

Chief Justice Pascal F. Calogero, Jr.

Louisiana Supreme Court CHIEF JUSTICE PASCAL F. CALOGERO, JR.. received his Juris Doctor degree from Loyola School of Law in 1954, where he graduated first in his class and was President of the Student Editorial Board of the Loyola Law Review. In 1992, almost forty years after receiving his J. D. degree, Chief Justice Calogero received a Master of Laws Degree in the Judicial Process from the University of Virginia.

Chief Justice Calogero served in the United States Army from 1954 to 1957 as a military police officer, and then as an officer in the Judge Advocate General's Corps until separation from the Army with the rank of Captain. He served as a law clerk to the judges of Civil District Court in Orleans Parish prior to practicing law from 1958 to 1972.

Chief Justice Calogero was elected to the Louisiana Supreme Court in 1972 and took his first oath as Associate Justice on January 10, 1973 to serve a two-year unexpired term. He was re-elected in 1974 to a fourteen-year term on the Court. He was re-elected again in 1988 and in 1998. As an Associate Justice, he was a member of the Judicial Council and the Judicial Ethics Committee. He also served as the State Court Representative for the National Center for State Courts, as Chairman of the Supreme Court Budget Committee, and as Chairman of the Judicial Budgetary Control Board.

Chief Justice Calogero was sworn in as Chief Justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court on April 9, 1990. As Chief Justice, he serves as the Chief Administrative Officer of the Louisiana Court System, Chairman of the Judicial Ethics Committee, the Judicial Council, and the Human Resources Committee, and as a member of the Conference of Chief Justices. In December of 1994, he was appointed by U. S. Supreme Court Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist to the Advisory Committee on Appellate Rules of the Judicial Conference of the United States, and, in 1995, he commenced serving on the National Center for State Courts Time on Appeal Advisory Committee. In 1997, he was elected to the Board of Directors of the Conference of Chief Justices.

As Chief Justice, Justice Calogero has been responsible for numerous major improvements to the law, the legal system, and the administration of justice in Louisiana, many of which serve as national models of court improvement. Just a few examples of such reforms in judicial administration include creation of the Louisiana Indigent Defender Board (now an executive branch agency), establishment of the mandatory Interest on Lawyers' Trust Fund Account Program (IOLTA) for the purpose of funding law-related programs benefiting the public and the legal system, improvements in the juvenile court system, institution of a new lawyer disciplinary system based on the ABA's Model Code, bolstering of the judicial disciplinary system, adoption of 5-year Strategic Plans for the Supreme Court, Courts of Appeal, and trial courts, adoption of a uniform pay plan for the state appellate courts, and establishment of the Supreme Court's Community Relations Department.

Chief Justice Calogero has lectured to law classes at the University of New Orleans, Harvard Law School, and Loyola School of Law, and has served as a judge in law student moot court competitions on numerous occasions, in addition to authoring articles for law reviews and the Louisiana Bar Journal. Chief Justice Calogero has participated in over 6,000 oral arguments and published Supreme Court opinions, and has authored approximately 1,000 majority opinions, concurrences and dissents. For almost three decades, including since 1990 as Chief Justice, he has played a significant role in the Supreme Court's consistently current docket, notwithstanding the tripling of annual court filings since 1973.

Chief Justice Calogero is the recipient of the Louisiana Bar Foundation's 1991 Distinguished Jurist Award, which is presented annually to the outstanding judge in the State of Louisiana. On May 18, 1991, Chief Justice Calogero was awarded a Doctor of Laws degree Honoria causa from Loyola School of Law. He was also selected an honorary member of the Order of the Coif by the LSU Law Center, where he was inducted into the Hall of Fame. The Chief Justice was named the 1995 Distinguished National Jurist by the Indiana University School of Law - Indianapolis for his work in the area of indigent defense. He was also the recipient of the national 1995 Judge Bob Jones Memorial Award, which is presented annually to a judge by the American Judges Association for significant contributions to judicial education. In 1997, Chief Justice Calogero was presented the Justice Albert Tate, Jr. Award by the Louisiana Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, and in 1999, Chief Justice Calogero received the Outstanding Judicial Award from Victims and Citizens Against Crime, Inc. for the fair and impartial manner in which he conducts his judicial responsibilities and his commitment to ensure that the criminal justice system works for victims and for the people of Louisiana. In 2001, Chief Justice Calogero was honored by the Loyola Law School Alumni Association in recognition of his distinguished career on the Supreme Court of Louisiana. In 2005, Chief Justice Calogero received the Beacon of Justice Award from the American Board of Trial Advocates' Southeast Chapter, recognizing Chief Justice Calogero as jurist of the year.  Also in 2005, Chief Justice Calogero was one of the first inductees into the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame by the Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum Foundation. In 2007, the American Judicature Society, a national nonpartisan organization dedicated to the effective administration of justice, awarded Chief Justice Calogero the Fourth Annual Dwight D. Opperman Award for Judicial Excellence. He also was named the 2007 Distinguished Jurist by the Pro Bono Project.

Chief Justice Calogero is a native of New Orleans, Louisiana. He is the son of Pascal F. Calogero, a City of New Orleans police officer, and Louise Moore Calogero, both deceased. He is married to Leslie Langhetee and is the father of ten children, Debbie Calogero Applebaum, and David, Pascal III, Elizabeth, Thomas, Michael, Stephen, Gerald, Katie, and Chrissy Calogero.


void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access