Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Catherine D. Kimball. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Timothy F. Averill. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Drug Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us

 Louisiana Supreme Court Justices

Chief Justice Catherine D. Kimball


Juris Doctorate Degree, Louisiana State University, 1970

Bolton High School, Alexandria, Louisiana, 1963


Work Experience:

  • Chief Justice since January 1, 2009
  • Associate Justice, Louisiana Supreme Court, 1992 - 2008
  • Judge, 18th Judicial District Court, Division A, 1982 – 1992; Chief Judge, 1990 - 1992
  • Assistant District Attorney, 18th Judicial District, December 1978 - 1982
  • Attorney, Sole Practitioner, 1975 - 1982
  • General Counsel, Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal Justice, 1973-1981 
  • Special Counsel, Louisiana Attorney General's Office, 1971-1973
  • Law Clerk to Judge Nauman S. Scott, United States District Court, Western District of Louisiana, 1970
  • Visiting Professor for Tulane Law School, Summer School Program, 1996, 1998
  • Visiting Professor for the Paul M. Hebert Law Center, Louisiana State University, Summer Program, 2008

Professional Responsibilities and Associations:

  • Member, Louisiana State Bar Association
  • Member, American Judicature Society
  • Member, State-Federal Judicial Council
  • Member, Wex Malone American Inns of Court
  • Member, COSCA/NACM National Association for Court Management
  • Chair, Louisiana Supreme Court Case Management Information System Task Force
  • Chair, Louisiana Supreme Court Technology Committee
  • Chair,, Southeast Louisiana Criminal Justice Recovery Task Force
  • Chair, Judicial Budgetary Control Board
  • Board Member, Juvenile Justice Implementation Commission
  • Member, Louisiana Law Enforcement Commission
  • Member, U.S. Department of Justice National Integration Resource Center Task Force
  • Chair of the Integrated Criminal Justice Information System Policy Board
  • Member, Leadership Louisiana, Class of 1999
  • Member, Louisiana Children’s Cabinet
  • Member, Judicial Council
  • Member, Ethics Committee, 2001
  • Member, Louisiana Protective Order Registry (LPOR)
  • Supreme Court Liaison to the Louisiana Legislature
  • Supreme Court Liaison to District Judges’ Association
  • American Bar Association Site Committee for Ongoing Accreditation for Southern Law Center, March, 2008



Past Memberships:

  • Past Member, Paul M. Hebert Law Center Search Committee for a New Chancellor
  • Past President, Louisiana Legislative Wives Auxiliary First Vice-President and Member, Executive Committee of the Louisiana District Judges Association President
  • Member, Louisiana State University Law Alumni Association
  • Member, Louisiana Coordinating Council on Domestic Violence, Member, Louisiana Juvenile Judges Association
  • Member, National Conference of State Trial Judges
  • Member, 18th Judicial District Bar Association
  • Member, American Trial Lawyers Association
  • Member, The Governor's Commission on Child Support
  • Member, Economic Justice for All Task Force
  • Member, The Committee to Evaluate New Judgeships
  • Member, The Orleans Criminal and Civil Court Committee
  • Chair, Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee
  • Chair, Complex Litigation Committee
  • Honorary Committee Member, Heart of Spain
  • Member, The Supreme Court Committee on the Judicial Electoral Process
  • Member, The Louisiana Task Force on Women in the Courts
  • Member, Automated Fingerprint Identification Selection Committee
  • Member, Louisiana Data Base Commission
  • Member, The Justice Funding Commission
  • Member, LSU Law Center National Alumni Board
  • Chair, Louisiana Lawyers Advertising Committee



  • Commencement Speaker, Southeastern Louisiana University, May 1997
  • Commencement Speaker, Loyola University, School of Law,   May 1993
  • Commencement Speaker, Paul M. Hebert Law Center, Louisiana State University, May 2001
  • Commencement Speaker, Southern University Law Center,  May, 2006
  • Received the Outstanding Judicial Award from Victims & Citizens Against Crime, Inc.
  • Selected in 1992, 1997, and 1999 as a nominee for the YWCA Women of Achievement Award
  • Honored as one of the Top 25 Women of Achievement by the Baton Rouge Business Report, 1997
  • Louisiana CASA Association President’s Award, 2002
  • Received an Ambassador for Children Award from the Louisiana CASA Association, 2003
  • Named one of the 2007 Top 100 in Baton Rouge by the Baton Rouge Business Report
  • Outstanding Alumni of the LSU Law Center, 1999
  • LSU Alumni Association Hall of Distinction, 2003
  • Louisiana Bar Foundation, Distinguished Jurist Award, 2006
  • Received the Crimestoppers Special Award for Commitment to Community, Southeast Louisiana Criminal Justice Recovery Task Force, 2006
  • Louisiana Association of Drug Court Professionals Alton E. “Jake Hadley Award”
  • Outstanding Leadership, Louisiana 1993 Governor’s Conference on Women
  • Inducted into the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame, 2006
  • Honorary Member of the Louisiana Chapter of Order of the Coif
  • A founder of the Sunshine Foundation, which distributes free books annually to Louisiana’s pre-schoolers
  • Received the LSU Women’s Center Esprit de Femme Award, with prestigious distinction, for her exceptional efforts toward the advancement of women and her commitment to enriching the lives of all, March 12, 2009.

  • Received 2008 Judge of the Year Award from Louisiana CASA Association in recognition of outstanding service and commitment to CASA in Louisiana, May 21, 2009.
  • Commencement Speaker, Louisiana State University Alexandria,  December, 2009
  • Named first recipient of the Louisiana Champion of Juvenile Justice Award, October, 2010
  • Inducted into the Louisiana Political Museum & Hall of Fame, February, 2011


Personal Information:


Born in Alexandria, Louisiana, on February 7, 1945. Daughter of the late William H. Dick and the late Jane C. Kelley Dick. Married in June, 1967, to Clyde W. Kimball, former Louisiana State Representative and former Deputy Secretary for the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. Justice Kimball and her husband have three children, four grandsons and two granddaughters. The Kimballs reside in Ventress, Louisiana. 




void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access