Court News
12-18-2015 On behalf of the Louisiana Supreme Court and the Louisiana Judicial College, Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson issued the following statement on the passing of Cheney C. Joseph, Jr.
12-17-2015 The Louisiana Supreme Court announced today that Suzanne H. Stinson, attorney Philip B. Sherman and attorney Fred L. Herman have been appointed members of the Judiciary Commission of Louisiana
11-17-2015 Court Closure Orders
10-28-2015 Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson has been named one of five Louisiana State University (LSU) graduates to be inducted into the LSU Alumni Association Hall of Distinction
10-27-2015 The Louisiana Supreme Court announced today the election of 15th Judicial District Court Judge Jules D. Edwards, III, as Chair and citizen-member Carol LeBlanc as Vice-Chair of the Judiciary Commission of Louisiana. Additionally, the Court announced the appointment of attorney Kelly McNeil Legier as the new Judiciary Commission Counsel succeeding attorney Clare Fiasconaro upon her retirement
10-26-2015 35th JDC Closure Order
10-13-2015 The Louisiana Law Library, housed in the Louisiana Supreme Court, announced today that it will host a six-panel display telling the story of the Freedom Rides
10-13-2015 Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson, on behalf of the Louisiana Supreme Court, recently signed an order establishing the Louisiana Access to Justice Commission (ATJ Commission)
10-13-2015 15th JDC Closure Order
09-15-2015 The Louisiana Supreme Court will celebrate national Constitution Day Thursday, September 17, 2015, by giving away free pocket-sized copies of the U.S. Constitution at the Royal Street courthouse
08-28-2015 Louisiana Supreme Court Justice Jefferson D. Hughes III, and seven other public officials were inducted into the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame in an afternoon ceremony
08-27-2015 The Law Library of Louisiana hosted Davita E. Vance-Cooks, Director of the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO)
08-26-2015 38th JDC Temporary Relocation Order
07-24-2015 Lafayette Parish Courthouse Court Closure Order
06-05-2015 In a joint resolution issued today, the Louisiana legislature commended the Louisiana Supreme Court for administering drug courts in the state since 2001 and for collaborating with Louisiana Association of Drug Court Professionals (LADCP) to ensure accountability and promote best practices in Louisiana drug courts. House Concurrent Resolution No. 216, was authored by Representative Chuck Kleckley and Senator John Alario
06-01-2015 Law Library of Louisiana Director Georgia Chadwick has been awarded the Bethany J. Ochal Award for Distinguished Service by the State, Court and County Special Interest Section of the American Association of Law Libraries
05-28-2015 Cameron Parish Clerk of Court Closure Order
04-27-2015 Court Closure Orders and Information
04-16-2015 Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson was presented the 2015 Diversity Leadership Award today by the American Bar Association (ABA) Section of Litigation during the Diversity Leadership & John Minor Wisdom Awards Luncheon held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in New Orleans
04-13-2015 Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson announced, in recognition of Law Day—May 1st, the Louisiana Supreme Court issued a resolution urging all Louisiana state court judges to dedicate the month of May 2015 to reaching out to schools to provide students with an opportunity to learn about the law, the role of judges, and the court system from members of the judiciary
04-03-2015 Report of the Supreme Court of Louisiana to the Louisiana Legislature in Response to H.R. No. 156 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session
03-31-2015 Second Circuit Court of Appeal Judge Felicia Toney Williams, 19th Judicial District Court Judge Timothy E. Kelley, Dr. Michael S. Blue and Carol LeBlanc have been appointed members of the Judiciary Commission of Louisiana
03-01-2015 2014 Louisiana Supreme Court Annual Report
02-23-2015 Court Closure Orders
01-02-2015 19th JDC Closure Order