VOL. 1 - 2008

A NEWSLETTER OF THE JUDICIARY OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA



Chief Justice Calogero receives Opperman Award

Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Pascal F. Calogero, Jr. was named the recipient of the Fourth Annual Dwight D. Opperman Award for Judicial Excellence, which cited his "extraordinary service to the people of Louisiana during his 34 years of service as a member of that state's Supreme Court, including almost 17 years as Chief Justice, both through his decisions demonstrating commitment to the rule of law and his leadership in bringing about numerous advances in the administration of justice." The American Judicature Society created the Opperman Award to honor a sitting state judge of a trial or appellate court who has had a career of distinguished judicial service.

(I to r) Hon. Richard R. Cooch, Resident Judge of the Superior Court of Delaware and Hon. Marc T. Amy, Louisiana Third Circuit Court of Appeal present the Dwight D. Opperman Award for Judicial Excellence to Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Pascal F. Calogero, Jr. / Photo by Harold Baquet/Loyola University

Saloom elected ABA Representative Also: Safety Program "Buckle Up Acadiana" reaches nine schools



Judge Douglas Saloom, City Court of Lafayette, was elected District 7 Representative to the American Bar Association National Conference of Specialized Court Judges. Judge Saloom is immediate past Chair of the ABA Judicial Outreach Network Committee. Judge Saloom is an ac-

tive member of the NCSCJ having participated as a panelist on several Conference and ABA programs.

On a local level, this October, the **"Buckle Up Acadiana"** safety belt campaign spearheaded by Judge Saloom brought together four law enforcement agencies, the Lafayette Fire Department and Acadian Ambulance Service to promote safety belt usage by elementary school students. During three days and at nine local elementary schools, the group handed out over 6,000 stickers to stu-

dents as they arrived for school. To receive a sticker, which read "I Click It! Cross My Heart!" the student had to be seen wearing a safety belt upon arrival at school.









Louisiana Judicial Administrator Hugh M. Collins, Ph.D. was awarded the prestigious Kenneth Palmer Award in recognition of his service to the Conference of State

Court Administrators (COSCA) at the 2007 Annual Meeting of the Conference of Chief Justices and COSCA. Collins has been the Louisiana Judicial Administrator since 1988 and has served simultaneously as the CEO of the Judiciary Commission of Louisiana.



16th JDC Judge John Conery was presented the Bob Jones Memorial Award for Excellence in Judicial Education at the recent American Judges Association Conference in Vancouver. Presenting the award is East Baton Rouge Family Court Judge Toni Higginbotham, Chair of the American Judges Association Awards Committee.

COURT COLUMN RETURNS

Welcome to the recently redesigned version of Court Column, published in an onlineonly format. We would like to encourage judges, clerks of court and court administrators to submit any outreach activities, awards received, or other "good news" about your court to <u>rgunn@lajao.org</u> for publication in future issues of Court Column.

JUDICIAL FAMILY INSTITUTE PROVIDES RESOURCES TO JUDICIAL FAMILY

The Judicial Family Institute (JFI) is a national organization dedicated to informing and offering support to judicial families confronting the unique challenges of public life. The JFI is a subcommittee of the Past President's Committee of the Conference of Chief Justices and enjoys an affiliation with the National Center for State Courts.

Through educational programs, research, and website, JFI encourages the exchange of information and resources within the national judicial family community. Current areas of interest to judicial families include personal security, ethics guidelines, judicial elections, and quality of life issues.

JFI welcomes your questions, comments, suggestions, and active participation in contributing to this exchange of information and resources. The JFI website is: <u>http://jfi.ncsconline.org</u>

<u>2007-2008 Organizational Officers Elected</u> <u>during 2007 Fall Judges' Conference</u>

CONFERENCE OF COURT OF APPEAL JUDGES

Chairman - Judge Henry Brown, Jr., 2nd Circuit Vice-Chairman - Judge Gene Thibodeaux, 3rd Circuit Secretary/Treasurer - Judge Felicia Toney Williams, 2nd Circuit

LOUISIANA DISTRICT JUDGES ASSOCIATION

President - Judge Guy Holdridge, 23rd JDC First Vice-President - Judge John E. Conery, 16th JDC Second Vice-President - Judge Glenn Everett, 15th JDC Secretary - Judge Curtis Calloway, 19th JDC Treasurer - Judge Sharon Ingram Marchman, 4th JDC

LOUISIANA COUNCIL OF JUVENILE AND FAMILY COURT JUDGES

President - Judge Paul Young, Caddo Parish Juvenile Court Vice-President - Judge Lilynn A. Cutrer, 14th JDC Secretary - Judge Grace Gasaway, Hammond City Court **Interim Treasurer - Judge Nancy Amato Konrad, Jefferson Parish Juvenile Court **Treasurer appointed (not elected) by President pursuant to ByLaws Amendment adopted 10/4/93.

LOUISIANA CITY COURT JUDGES ASSOCIATION

President - Judge Marilyn Lambert, Ascension Parish Court Vice-President - Judge Paul Sens, New Orleans Municipal Court Secretary - Judge John Slattery, Springhill City Court Treasurer - Judge Laura Prosser Davis, Baton Rouge City Court