Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2001 Press Releases

(504) 599-0319

  MAY 14, 2001


Chief Justice Pascal F. Calogero, Jr. announced today that Retired Judge Robert L. Lobrano has been appointed by the Supreme Court of Louisiana as justice pro tempore of the Supreme Court of Louisiana, Sixth District to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Justice Harry T. Lemmon. The Chief Justice further announced that Second Circuit Court of Appeal Judge Felicia Toney Williams has been appointed as a justice pro tempore to assist with the docket of Justice Bernette J. Johnson, who is recovering from a minor injury, and that Retired Judge Phillip C. Ciaccio has been appointed as a supernumerary justice pro tempore.

Lobrano's appointment will be effective May 17, 2001 through November 17, 2000, or until the vacancy is filled, or until further orders of the Court, whichever occurs sooner, at which time this appointment shall terminate. Williams will hear oral argument and participate in the disposition of opinions of cases orally argued May 14, 2001 through May 17, 2001. Ciaccio's appointment will be effective May 14, 2001 through June 2, 2001 or until further orders of the Court.

Lobrano received both his B.B.A. degree and his law degree, with honors, from Tulane University. He was a member of the Tulane Law Review, Order of the Coif and Tulane Moot Court Board and was the overall Tulane Moot Court winner in 1967. He was first elected judge to the Court of Appeal, Fourth Circuit in October 1981 and served in that capacity until his retirement on December 31, 1998. Prior to his election to the bench, he was in the private practice of law with the firm Lobrano, Ballay and Braud. He is a member of the American and Louisiana Bar Associations and a past President of the House of Delegates of the Plaquemines Bar. He has served as an adjunct professor for the Tulane Trial Advocacy Program, as well as a panelist on numerous Judicial College seminars. Since his retirement, Lobrano has served as judge pro tempore on the Court of Appeal, Fifth Circuit and on various district courts.

Williams received her B.A. from Southern University and J.D. degree from Southern University School of Law where she was Editor-in-Chief of the Law Review. Prior to her election to the circuit court, she served as judge of Division "B" of the 6 th Judicial District Court for East Carroll, Madison and Tensas Parishes. She was also an Assistant District Attorney for the 6 th Judicial District and was in the private practice of law. She is a member of the Louisiana State Bar Association, the Louisiana Task Force on Women in the Courts and Who's Who in American Law.

Retired Judge Ciaccio served as judge for the Court of Appeal, Fourth Circuit from 1982 until his retirement in 1997. Prior to his election to the bench, he served as City Councilman for District E of the City of New Orleans.


void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access