Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2005 Press Releases

(504) 310-2590

 FEBRUARY 1, 2005


By order of the Louisiana Supreme Court, James R. Dagate, Michael S. Walsh, Charles C. Beard and Martin Louis Chehotsky have been appointed to the Louisiana Attorney Disciplinary Board, commencing January 1, 2005 and concluding on December 31, 2007. They join reappointed Board members attorneys Wanda Anderson Davis and Louisiana State Bar Associate representative Arlene Knighton to complete the 14 member Board.

The Louisiana Attorney Disciplinary Board, which was established by the Supreme Court of Louisiana in 1990, is tasked with the responsibility of investigating all allegations of lawyer misconduct and with the responsibility of making recommendations to the Court when discipline is warranted. The agency consists of a statewide board, hearing committees, disciplinary counsel and administrative staff. The new members are:

Nominated by Justice John Weimer, newly appointed Attorney-at-Large board member James Dagate has practiced law for 26 years, is a certified mediator, serves as an Assistant District Attorney for the 32nd Judicial District Court, and has served as a member and past chairman of the Attorney Disciplinary Hearing Committee. Additionally, he is the past president of the Terrebonne Parish Bar Association. According to Justice Weimer, “Dagate has a wide variety of legal experience that comes with serving clients in a small law firm. His honesty and integrity are above reproach. He combines legal knowledge with a practical common sense approach.”

Nominated by Justice Catherine D. “Kitty” Kimball, attorney Michael S. Walsh is a member of the Louisiana and Texas Bar Associations. He is the current Chairman of the Criminal Law Section of the Louisiana State Bar Association and is a Past President of the Louisiana Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. He is a graduate of the Paul M. Hebert Law Center and Louisiana State University.

Nominated by Justice Jeffrey P. Victory as a Public-at-Large member, Charles C. Beard of Shreveport, Louisiana is a Certified Financial Planner.

Nominated by Justice Jeannette Knoll as a Public-at-Large member, Martin L. Chehotsky of Lake Charles, Louisiana is a Certified Public Accountant with McElroy, Quirk & Burch and an Adjunct Professor of Accounting and Auditing at McNeese State University.

The disciplinary board is composed of 14 members who are appointed by the Supreme Court. One member is nominated by the Louisiana State Bar Association each year and must have prior lawyer discipline experience. Of the 14 members, four are members of the general public with diverse backgrounds. Women comprise 25 percent of the Board and one-third are minorities. The term of office for all board members is three years and no board member may serve more than two consecutive terms. None of the members of the Board receive any compensation for their services.

The new members replace outgoing members James L. Pate of Lafayette, Peter T. Dazzio of Shreveport, Reginald Brown, Sr. of Baton, Rouge, and Jack Whitehead, Jr. of Shreveport, to whom the Court is grateful for their years of service.

void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access