Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2008 Press Releases


(504) 310-2590

 MAY 30, 2008


Attorney Chris J. Roy, Sr. has been appointed by order of the Louisiana Supreme Court to serve as judge pro tempore of the Court of Appeal, Third Circuit, according to Justice Chet Traylor. Roy fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Glenn B. Gremillion effective June 6, 2008 through December 31, 2008, or until the vacancy is filled, whichever occurs sooner.

Roy received both his undergraduate and law degree from Louisiana State University in 1959. During the same year he was admitted to practice law in Louisiana, the U.S. District Court, Fifth and Eleventh Circuits and the U.S. Supreme Court. A trial lawyer, Roy has also served as City Attorney in Alexandria, Louisiana in 1983 and as the Deputy Clerk, Court of Appeal, Third Circuit in Lake Charles, Louisiana in 1961. Additionally, he served as judge pro tempore of the City Court of Marksville in 1996 and of the City Court of Alexandria in 2002.

Roy has been an active member of numerous law-related organizations, including serving as: President, Alexandria Bar Association 1980-1981; Chairman, Louisiana State Bar Association, Bill of Rights Section, 1988-1996; a member, Eighth District, Board of Governors, 1971-1973; and as a member of the Nominating Committee, 1974-1975. He also served as a member of the Board of Governors, 1971-1980, and as President, 1978-1979, of the Louisiana Trial Lawyers Association and was also a member of the Association of Trial Lawyers of America and CODOFIL. In 1973, he was a delegate and Vice Chairman of the Louisiana Constitutional Convention.

Roy’s civic involvement included being a member of the Board of Trustees, Paul M. Hebert Law Center, Louisiana State University, 2001-2005; the Chairman, Rapides Parish Airport Authority, 1982-1983; the attorney for Red River, Atchafalaya and Bayou Boeuf Levee Districts; a Fellow of the International Society of Barristers; and a member of the Melviin Belli Society.

He is the co-author of “Win ATV Cases” published by Judicial Press in 1988 and is a Retired Captain, Louisiana National Guard Green Berets.


- 30 -

void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access