Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2011 Press Releases


(504) 310-2590

 OCTOBER 17, 2011


First Judicial District Court Judge Scott Crichton was elected President of the Louisiana District Court Judges Association (LDJA) during the Louisiana Judges Fall Conference held in New Orleans, October 2-4, 2011. The LDJA is a professional, non-profit corporation established in 1981 that has a membership of 230 judges. All Louisiana district judges with general jurisdiction and judges of juvenile and family courts are eligible for membership.

The mission of the LDJA includes, among other things, the administration of justice, representation for the interest of judges and the professional development of the membership to provide the greatest access to fair, just and responsive trial courts.

Judge Crichton is serving his 21st year as judge with the First Judicial District Court. Having served on both the civil and criminal divisions, Judge Crichton has presided over hundreds of jury trials and well over a thousand hearings and bench trials. He received his B.S. degree in 1976 from Louisiana State University (LSU) and a J.D. degree in 1980 from Paul M. Hebert LSU Law Center.

Prior to his election to the bench in 1990, he served as an Assistant District Attorney for Caddo Parish for a decade and maintained a civil practice. He has served as Chairman of the continuing legal education committees for the Shreveport Bar Association and LDJA and served as a member of the Diversity Committee for the Louisiana State Bar Association as well as adjunct instructor of Business Law at LSU-Shreveport. He presently serves on the Advisory Committee to the Supreme Court on the Judicial Canons and the Louisiana Judicial College Board of Governors.

A frequent speaker for the Louisiana Judicial College, Judge Crichton also teaches a teen consequences program “Don’t Let This Be You”, which he created and has presented to more than 15,000 teenagers, parents, and teachers at various Shreveport schools, churches, and community groups. He has recently designed another program, “Sexting, Texting and Beyond”, which addresses electronic crimes and related misbehavior.

Other officers comprising the 2011-2012 Executive Committee of the LDJA are 9th Judicial District Court Judge Harry F. Randow, First Vice President; 22nd Judicial District Court Judge Raymond Childress, Second Vice President; 15th Judicial District Court Judge Jules Edwards, Secretary; and 15th Judicial District Court Judge Marilyn Castle, Treasurer.



void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access