Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2012 Press Releases


(504) 310-2590

 OCTOBER 25, 2012


The Louisiana Supreme Court announced today that 4th Judicial District Court Judge Sharon I. Marchman and 19th Judicial District Court Judge Antony J. Marabella, Jr., have been elected Chair and Vice-Chair of the Judiciary Commission of Louisiana, respectively.

Judge Marchman succeeds William “Bill” W. Hall as Chair of the Judiciary Commission. She received her undergraduate degree (1982) and her law degree (1985) from Louisiana State University (LSU). After working as a law clerk at the Second Circuit Court of Appeal, she entered private practice with the Monroe firm of Theus, Grisham, Davis and Leigh where she became a senior partner. In 2000, she was elected to the 4th Judicial District Court and served as Chief Judge. Judge Marchman presides over juvenile court as well as adult drug and DWI court for Morehouse and Ouachita Parishes. She also established a juvenile drug court for Ouachita Parish which has become a MacArthur Foundation Model for Change site. Judge Marchman was awarded the Alton E. “Jake” Hadley Award for outstanding work in drug court, as well as the Louisiana Association of Marriage and Family Therapists Family Advocacy Award, and the Monroe Region of the National Association of Social Workers Public Official of the Year Award. In 2009 Judge Marchman was selected by the Louisiana Supreme Court to serve as a judge member of the Judiciary Commission.

Judge Marabella succeeds Judge Marchman as Vice-Chair of the Judiciary Commission. He received his law degree from the LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center in 1973. He began his career in Baton Rouge as an assistant parish attorney (1973-1975), an assistant district attorney (1975-1978), and an assistant public defender (1978- 1980). He was in private practice devoted largely to criminal defense from 1980 until his election in 2003. Judge Marabella presides over a criminal docket at the 19th Judicial District Court and also presides over drug court. Additionally, he serves as an adjunct faculty member of the LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center. Judge Marabella is a member of many professional organizations where he has served in leadership positions including: Baton Rouge Bar Association President (1994); Louisiana Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers President (1999); East Baton Rouge Parish Indigent Defense Board Chairman; Louisiana Indigent Defense Assistance Board Chairman (2001-2003); and Ecumenical House Board President. In 2011 Judge Marabella was selected by the Louisiana Supreme Court to serve as judge member of the Judiciary Commission.


- 30 -


void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access