Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2013 Press Releases


(504) 310-2590

 JULY 30, 2013


The Louisiana Supreme Court announced today that Chief Justice Bernette Johnson and 40th Judicial District Court Judge Mary Becnel are the co-chairs of the 35th Annual Conference of the National Association of Women Judges (NAWJ) which will be held at the Ritz-Carlton in New Orleans, October 9-13, 2013.

The National Association of Women Judges is the nation’s leading voice of women jurists dedicated to preserving judicial independence, ensuring equal justice and access to the courts for women and minorities, providing education on cutting-edge issues, and increasing the numbers and advancement of women judges at all levels. Over 300 NAWJ members are expected to attend the New Orleans conference.

According to Chief Justice Johnson, “The Conference Planning Committee has coordinated an outstanding program featuring United States Attorney General Eric Holder, Jr. as the keynote speaker for the luncheon Thursday, October 10. Other notable speakers include mediation attorney Kenneth Feinberg and attorney Barbara Arnwine, President and Executive Director of the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under the Law who will speak at the Friday, October 11 luncheon event.”

“Additionally, in recognition of the NAWJ Annual Conference, the Louisiana Supreme Court Law Museum, located in the 400 Royal Street courthouse, will debut a new exhibit entitled Making History: Women Judges in Louisiana. The exhibit will begin October 11 and will be open to the public thereafter during courthouse hours, weekdays 9 AM - 5PM.”

Members of the Conference Planning Committee include: Third Circuit Court of Appeal Judge Phyllis Montgomery Keaty; Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal Judges Rosemary Ledet and Joy Lobrano; Orleans Criminal Parish Court Judge Laurie White; Orleans Civil District Court Judges Ethel Simms Julien, Tiffany Chase, and Bernadette G. D’Souza; and 24th Judicial District Court Judge June Berry Darensburg.


- 30 -



void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access