Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2013 Press Releases


(504) 310-2590

 OCTOBER 2, 2013


Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson will be awarded the prestigious Joan Dempsey Klein Award by the National Association of Women Judges (NAWJ) in a ceremony at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel, Thursday, October 10, 2013. The Joan Dempsey Klein NAWJ Honoree of the Year Award is presented to a judge who brings distinction to her office and to NAWJ as exemplified by its founding mother, Justice Joan Dempsey Klein of California’s Second District Court of Appeal.

According to NAWJ President Joan Churchill, “The award recognizes Chief Justice Johnson’s assistance to women judges in becoming more proficient in their profession, help in solving the legal, social and ethical problems associated with the judiciary, and working to increase the number of women serving as judges. Chief Justice Johnson overcame many obstacles in her judicial career while making impressive contributions to women in the legal profession.”

The NAWJ 35th Annual Conference will be in New Orleans October 9 - 13 with over 300 NAWJ members expected to attend. Chief Justice Johnson will be presented the award at the Keynote Luncheon which will also feature U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder, Jr. as the keynote speaker.

NAWJ is the nation’s leading voice of women jurists dedicated to preserving judicial independence, ensuring equal justice and access to the courts for women and minorities, providing education on cutting-edge issues, and increasing the numbers and advancement of women judges at all levels.

As the 2013 recipient, Chief Justice Johnson joins a distinguished list of Joan Dempsey Klein Award recipients that includes U.S. Supreme Court Justices Sandra Day O’Connor (1982), Ruth Bader Ginsburg (2003) and Sonia Sotomayor (2009).

- 30 -



void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access