Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2014 Press Releases


(504) 310-2590

 FEBRUARY 17, 2014


Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson was joined today by justices of the Louisiana Supreme Court, judges of the state and federal judiciary, members of The Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Society, distinguished members of the legal community, and a host of friends and family in a courtroom ceremony to unveil the official portrait of the Chief Justice. Also in attendance was the portrait artist Ulrick Jean-Pierre. The portrait, commissioned by the Historical Society, will take its place among the permanent collection of portraits of Chief Justices exhibited in the Louisiana Supreme Court Museum located in the Royal Street courthouse.

The Historical Society was founded in 1992 to preserve the history of the Louisiana Supreme Court and its influence on the development of Civil Law; and to research, publish, and create items and materials of historical interest regarding the Court.

Historical Society Board President, attorney Donna D. Fraiche, began her remarks by introducing the artist, “A native of Haiti, Ulrick Jean- Pierre is renown for his creation of Haitian historical paintings. His works interpret the elements of the culture of his native land and the historical characters who helped shape the society. Now a resident of New Orleans, Jean-Pierre continues this tradition in his portrait of Chief Justice Johnson by capturing her essence as a leader in the field of law in Louisiana for over 40 years.”

This year marks Chief Justice Johnson’s 29th year as a member of the Louisiana judiciary, having served as an Orleans Civil District Court judge for 10 years, including a term as Chief Judge, before joining the Supreme Court where she has served the remaining 19 years. She was sworn in as Chief Justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court on February 1, 2013. She is the Court’s 25th Chief Justice, the second female Chief Justice and the first African-American Chief Justice.

Others providing remarks to honor and celebrate the judicial career of Chief Justice Johnson included: attorney Richard Leefe, President, Louisiana State Bar Association; attorney Jack Weiss, Chancellor, Louisiana State University Paul M. Hebert Law Center; Judge Ivan Lemelle, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana; and attorney Darleen Jacobs. Neyah and Noah Johnson, grand-children of the Chief Justice, opened the ceremony leading the Pledge of Allegiance.

Current board members of The Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Society are: Donna D. Fraiche, Judge Marc Amy, Mathile W. Abramson, Professor Paul R. Baier, Benjamin West Janke, Louis Curet, Rachel Emanuel, Ph.D., Robert Pugh, Jr., Cynthia Dupree, Allen Danos, Jr., Judge James Dennis, retired Judge James Boddie, Jr., Edward “Ned Diefenthal, E. Phelps Gay, Dean David Meyer, Dean María Pabón López, Chancellor Jack Weiss, Chancellor Freddie Pitcher, Jr, Richard Leefe and Leo Hamilton.

Portrait unveiling of Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson Portrait of Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson

- 30 -



void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access