Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2015 Press Releases


(504) 310-2590

 AUGUST 28, 2015


Louisiana Supreme Court Justice Jefferson D. Hughes III, and seven other public officials were inducted into the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame in an afternoon ceremony today. The Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame is a public service honor presented by the Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum Foundation, an organization which studies public safety and corrections. The ceremony, now in its 11th year, involves a tour of the Louisiana State Penitentiary at Angola and a visit to its museum which is the home of the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame exhibits.

“It is an honor to be recognized as a Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame inductee and to be included in this distinguished group of public servants who, each in their unique way, have dedicated their professional lives to improving public safety and quality of life for Louisiana citizens,” Justice Hughes said.

Justice Hughes received his undergraduate and his law degree from Louisiana State University. He served as a law clerk for Judge Frank Polozola and began private practice in Baton Rouge with the firm Adcock, Dupree, and Shows. He later began a solo practice and was the first attorney to practice law in Walker, Louisiana. After 12 years of private practice Justice Hughes was elected to the 21st Judicial District Court in 1990 where he served 14 years. In 2004 he was elected to the Court of Appeal, First Circuit, where he served eight years. He was elected to the Louisiana Supreme Court in 2012.

Other 2015 inductees to the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame include: Fabian Blache, Jr., Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police; Warden N. Burl Cain, Louisiana State Penitentiary; Mary Claire Landry, the New Orleans Family Justice Center; the late Charles R. Scott, II, former Caddo Parish District Attorney; Joseph L. Waltz, Jr., Terrebonne Parish District Attorney; and Craig Webre, Lafourche Parish Sheriff.

- 30 -



void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access