Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2015 Press Releases


(504) 310-2590

 OCTOBER 28, 2015


Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson has been named one of five Louisiana State University (LSU) graduates to be inducted into the LSU Alumni Association Hall of Distinction. The Hall of Distinction recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves and the university through their careers, personal and civic accomplishments, volunteer activities and loyalty to their alma mater LSU. The induction ceremony will take place March 4, 2016, in the Lod Cook Alumni Center on the LSU campus in Baton Rouge.

“I am honored to be among the illustrious LSU graduates included in the Alumni Hall of Distinction and I look forward to the induction ceremony with great anticipation. As an LSU law student in the 1960's, my thoughts were directed toward being a dutiful student, graduating, and passing the bar so I could practice law and help solve legal problems. Never did I imagine my life path would bring me back to LSU to be recognized for doing just that,”
Chief Justice Johnson said.

After receiving her undergraduate degree from Spelman College, Chief Justice Johnson was one of the first African-American women to attend the Paul M. Hebert Law Center at LSU, where she received her juris doctor degree in 1969. Her judicial career began in 1984 when she was the first women elected to serve on Orleans Civil District Court. Chief Justice Johnson was then elected to serve on the Louisiana Supreme Court in 1994 and was re-elected without opposition in 2000 and 2010. As senior justice on the Supreme Court, she was sworn in as Chief Justice on February 1, 2013. She is the Court’s 25th chief justice, its second female chief justice and its first African-American chief justice.

The other inductees to be honored are: Murphy Oil Corporation President and CEO Roger W. Jenkins; Memorial Hermann Pearland Hospital President and CEO Mario J. Garner; President and CEO of MacAulay-Brown, Inc. Sidney E. Fuchs; and Baton Rouge attorney, former Louisiana cabinet secretary and speaker pro tempore Frank P. Simoneaux.

- 30 -



void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access