Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2017 Press Releases


(504) 310-2590


 FEBRUARY 1, 2017


Louisiana Twenty-Fourth Judicial District Court (JDC) Judge Scott Schlegel has been selected by the Presidential Leadership Scholars program to participate in a unique leadership development initiative that draws upon the resources of the presidential centers of George W. Bush, William J. Clinton, George H. W. Bush, and Lyndon B. Johnson. Judge Schlegel is one of 60 Scholars chosen for the program’s third annual class. The program kicks off in Washington, D.C. on February 7th.

“This is an outstanding honor! Judge Schelgel will focus on his Re-entry Court efforts and will shine a light on the wonderful work that is being done to provide opportunities to ex-offenders here in Louisiana,” Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Johnson said.

The third class was selected after rigorous application and review process. Scholars were selected based on their leadership growth potential and the strength of their personal leadership projects aimed at improving the civic or social good by addressing a problem or need in a community, profession, or organization.

Over the course of several months, Scholars will travel to each participating presidential center to learn from former presidents, key administration officials, and leading academics. They will study and put into practice varying approaches to leadership, develop a network of peers, and exchange ideas with mentors and others who can help them make an impact in their communities. The latest class joins the alumni network of 121 Scholars in the program. They include individuals from diverse backgrounds, coming from a variety of sectors, including private, public, non-profit, military, and academia.

Judge Schlegel was elected as judge of Division D, 24th JDC effective May 2013 to complete an unexpired term, and was re-elected unopposed to a new term in November 2014. He earned his undergraduate degree from Louisiana State University in 1999 and his law degree from Loyola University School of Law, graduating cum laude, in 2004.

24th JDC Judge Scott Schlegel
24th JDC Judge Scott Schlegel

- 30 -



void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access