Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2017 Press Releases



(504) 310-2592


 APRIL 28, 2017


Attorney Cherrell Simms Taplin has been appointed, by order of the Louisiana Supreme Court, as judge pro tempore of Orleans Parish Civil District Court, Division “J,” according to Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson. Taplin will fill the vacancy created by the election of Judge Paula A. Brown to the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal and she will serve from May 1, 2017 through November 30, 2017, or until the vacancy is filled by election, whichever comes sooner.

Taplin received her undergraduate degree from Loyola University in 1998 and her law degree from Loyola University School of Law in 2002. Taplin has been serving as Senior Chief Deputy City Attorney for the City of New Orleans since December 2013 where she was responsible for the oversight of law department staff, budget assistance and office management, as well as overseeing and directing over 1,000 active cases in litigation.

Prior to her service with the City of New Orleans, Taplin was in the practice of law with the firm Galloway, Johnson, Tompkins, Burr and Smith, APLC, from December 2006 until December 2013 where she handled a diverse civil defense practice in addition to oversight of associates and senior-level guidance and supervision of project and case assignments. From October 2002 until December 2006, Taplin was an associate with Bryan & Jupiter, APLC.

Taplin is a former president and member of the board of governors of the Greater New Orleans Louis A. Martinet Legal Society. She served on the regional and national board of governors, as well as co-chair of the annual convention planning committee of the National Bar Association. She is a member of a number of professional organizations including: the Louisiana State Bar Association; the National Bar Association; the American Inn of Court, A.P. Tureaud Chapter; and the Defense Research Institute. She was a 2009 recipient of the Loyola University College of Law Black Law Students Association (BLSA) Distinguished Alumni Award.

- 30 -

Attorney Cherrell Simms Taplin

Cherrell Simms Taplin




void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access