Louisiana Supreme Court - 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 | Tel: 504-310-2300 Hon. Bernette J. Johnson. Chief Justice.  John Tarlton Olivier., Clerk of Court.  Sandra A. Vujnovich. Judicial Administrator
image 4
1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1 1x1
Advanced Search | Translate
About The Court

  Biographies of Justices
  Maps of Judicial Districts
  FAQ About the Court
  Judiciary Budget

Judicial Administrator's Office
  Judicial Administrator
  Forms for Judges
Law Library & Legal Resources
  Library Information
  Library Catalog
  Online Resource Center
  Forms-Supreme Court
Louisiana Judicial Entities
  Judiciary Commission
  Judicial Council
  Judicial College
  Attorney Disciplinary Board
  Bar Admissions Committee
  Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
Press Room
  Policy for Media
  Press Releases
  Bar Exam Results
Community Outreach  
  Law Day
  Kid's Page
  Job Opportunities
  Current Openings
  ADA Statement
  EEO Policy
  Harassment in the Workplace
Court Managed Programs 
  Children and Families
  Court Interpreters
  Drug Courts
  Grants for Courts
  Louisiana Protective Order
Court Administrators Association
  LA Court Administrators
 Additional Information
  Judicial Campaign Oversight

  Records Custodians
  Invitations to Comment
  Links: Other Courts and

  Judicial Compensation
  Site Map
  In Memoriam
  Contact Us


2019 Press Releases



Trina S. Vincent


 JULY 26, 2019



Susan Chehardy

Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson and the Justices of the Louisiana Supreme Court have appointed Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal Chief Judge Susan M. Chehardy as justice pro tempore of the Louisiana Supreme Court, First District, to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Justice Greg G. Guidry.  Chehardy’s appointment will be effective July 26, 2019 through December 31, 2019 or until the vacancy is filled, whichever occurs sooner.

Chief Judge Chehardy received her Juris Doctorate from Loyola University College of Law in 1985. Upon graduation she held the position as law clerk for the late Hon. Veronica Wicker for the 85’-86’ term. In August of 1986 she was employed as an associate with the firm of Gauthier, Murphy, Chehardy, Sherman & Breslin.  In 1989 she became a partner in the firm of Chehardy, Sherman, Ellis & Breslin. In 1991, she opened her own general litigation practice, Chehardy & Nielsen.

In January of 1992 she was appointed by the Louisiana Supreme Court as judge pro tempore to Division C of the 24th JDC. In September of 1992 she was elected judge of Division N of the 24th JDC. She served as judge of Division N, winning re-election to her district court seat in 1996. In October of 1998 she was elected to Division D of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal, the first woman to be elected to that Court. She was re-elected in 2002 and 2012. In January of 2013, she was sworn in to her new term as the first female Chief Judge of the Louisiana Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal.

Judge Chehardy is a member of the American Bar Association, the Louisiana State Bar Association, the Jefferson Bar Association and the New Orleans Bar Association, as well as a retired member of the Federal Bar Associations of the Eastern and Middle Districts. She is also a member of the American Judges Association, the Council of Chief Judges of the State Courts of Appeal, the Conference of Court of Appeal Judges, the Fifth Circuit Judges Association, the Fourth and Fifth Circuit Judges Association, the Association of Women Judges and the American Judicature Society.

Justice Greg Guidry retired from the Louisiana Supreme Court effective June 22, 2019 after his confirmation as a judge to the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana.  Guidry began serving on the Louisiana Supreme Court as an Associate Justice in January 2009. He was formerly a judge on the Louisiana Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal, having won election in August 2006. He served as a district court judge on the 24th Judicial District Court for the Parish of Jefferson for six years beginning in October 2000.



void image


Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Clerk of Court's Office (504) 310-2300
Judicial Administrator's Office (504) 310-2550
Law Library of Louisiana (504) 310-2400
Email: webmaster@lasc.org

Employee Access